Skip to content

Open Universities in India- Contacts and Mail IDs

Open University education system has been expanding on a rapid pace in India. There is growing number of specialized universities for open and correspondence education. Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) is the leading Open University in the country. IGNOU offers more than 120 courses in various disciplines. The Governments at the Center and state levels also keen on establishing Open Universities. At present there are 14 open universities in the country.

B.R. Ambedkar Open University, Hyderabad (BRAOU) is the first Open University in the country and IGNOU has been renowned as one of the largest open universities in the world. Courses are available from Certificate in Early Childhood Education to Doctorate in all major disciplines. All the open universities also offer professional courses like MBA, MCA, B.Ed. Healthcare Courses, Media and Communication etc. There is a long way to go in terms of quality of programmes offered by Open Universities in India.

Most of the open universities conduct entrance examinations for admission to UG, PG, and other higher level courses. Admission to Certificate, Diploma and PG Diploma courses will be through merit in the qualifying examination. All the open Universities have their own academic schedules. Some Universities follow calendar year and while some others follow academic year. IGNOU conducts online admissions throughout the year for selected courses. Following is the list of open universities in India:

1. Indira Gandhi National Open University Maidan Garhi, New Delhi
2. Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Open University (BRAOU), Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh
3. Vardhman Mahaveer Open University (Vmou) Rawatbhata Road, Akhelgarh, Kota-324010, Rajasthan
4. Nalanda Open University (NOU) IIIrd Floor, Biscomaun Bhawan, West Gandhi Maidan, Patna - 800001, Bihar
5. Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University (YCMOU) Dnyanagangotri, Near Gangapur Dam, Nashik - 422222, Maharashtra.
6. Madhya Pradesh Bhoj Open University (MPBOU) I.T.I (Gas Rahat), Building Govindpura, Bhopal.
7. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Open University (BAOU) Govt. Bungalow No.9, Dafnala, Shahi Baug, Ahmedabad.
8. Karnataka State Open University (KSOU) Manasagangotri, Mysore, Karnataka.
9. Netaji Subhas Open University (NSOU) 1, Woodburn Park, Kolkata.
10. U.P. Rajarshi Tandon Open University (UPRTOU) 17, Maharshi Dayanand Marg (Thornhill Road), Allahabad, Uttar Pradesh
11. Tamil Nadu Open University (TNOU), Directorate of Technical Education Campus, Guindy, Chennai.
12. PT. Sunderlal Sharma Open University (PSSOU) Near Pandit Deen Dayal Upadhayay Park, Vayapar Vihar, Bilaspur (Chattisgarh).
13. Uttaranchal Open UniversityNear Sourabh Mount View, Bhotia Traow, Haldwani- 263141, Nainital.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *